dcsimg About Us - National Conference on Cultural Property Protection Skip to main content
Smithsonian castle



Our History

The Conference began as an idea of Robert B. Burke, founder and first director of the Office of Protection Services at the Smithsonian Institution.

In 1977, just 20 people from the Smithsonian gathered for the inaugural Conference. Now, three decades later, the Conference unites participants from large and small cultural organizations across the United States and abroad.


Our Mission

The National Conference on Cultural Property Protection offers insight and proven solutions for new and seasoned professionals in the field of cultural property protection.

Our programming has evolved as the industry has expanded, embracing collaboration and an interdisciplinary focus on cultural heritage protection and preservation. We are always looking for new ways to meet your educational needs.


The Smithsonian

The Smithsonian is the founder and driver of the National Conference on Cultural Property Protection. Heritage preservation is our core strength with exemplary skills in security, facilities construction and management, and collections stewardship.

A volunteer board of directors provides oversight and ideas for the Conference. The director of the Smithsonian Institution’s Office of Protection Services serves as chair.

Advisory Board

Mark E. Wallace

Chairperson of the Advisory Board

Smithsonian Institution
Regina Lombardo

Chief Security Officer

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
Bob Combs headshot
Robert Combs

Director of Security and Visitor Services

The J. Paul Getty Trust
Genia Reaves

Chief Office of Protection Services

National Gallery of Art

LJ Hartman

Vice President of Facilities & Security

Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Doug Beaver headshot
Doug Beaver

Director of Security

National Museum of Women in the Arts
Laura Searson

Cultural Heritage Preservation Lead

Victoria and Albert Museum

Our Smithsonian Team

Dylan Garon

Deputy Director, Physical Security & Business Operations

Office of Protection Services
Jeanne O'Toole

Senior Advisor to the Director

Office of Protection Services
Darielle Pasquito

Executive Assistant to the Director

Office of Protection Services
Priya Menzies Fluitt

Program Manager

Office of Protection Services
KJ Jacks

Special Events Coordinator

Office of Special Events & Protocol
Hugh Meehan

Associate Director for Physical and Personnel Security

Office of Protection Services
Nicole Camilleri

Special Events Coordinator

Office of Special Events & Protocol
Frank Sulzer

Security Consultant

Office of Protection Services
Kelly Andrews

Technical Writer

Office of Protection Services
Emily Clyne

Communications Specialist

Office of Protection Services

Looking for More Information?

If you have a question or comment, please contact us using the information below.

National Conference on Cultural Property Protection
P.O. Box 37012
Capital Gallery Suite 4100 | MRC 504
Washington, D.C. 20013-7012
Phone: (202) 633-5650

Email: natconf@si.edu
Web: https://natconf.si.edu/
Twitter: @ProtectMuseums

Stay Connected

Sign up to receive news and updates directly to your inbox

Sign Up